Self Relaxing and EVOO

Denim And Leather

I've read here about mixing EVOO (or any type of natural oil for that matter) into the relaxer mix, because this slows down the processing tiem for the relaxer (in other words, it buys you some time in applying the relaxer).

I am preparing to do my first self-relaxer in a couple of weeks. I got the Phyto II, and want to use EVOO. When I mix it with the relaxer cream, does this mean I have to still use the maximum application time (for Phyto II, it's 25 minutes), or does using the EVOO mean I can extend the application time?

Hope my question makes sense. Since this is my first time self-relaxing, I want to be extra careful!

TIA :D

I've heard of this being used to texlax the hair. However, as far as relaxing bone straight, not sure. I am also pondering this. We should bump this thread and see if any other ladies can chime in.

redRiot said:
I've heard of this being used to texlax the hair. However, as far as relaxing bone straight, not sure. I am also pondering this. We should bump this thread and see if any other ladies can chime in.

Thanks for your reply and I totally agree. :D

Bump!

I've never added oils to phyto, but I have done it before with other no-lye relaxers. Phyto is pretty gentle on its own, and I have to add 3-6 extra minutes of relaxing time at every touchup. My strands are fine/medium (I just have a whole lot of them!)

So I think if you base your scalp really well it would serve the same purpose.

HTH

-A

Denim And Leather said:
I've read here about mixing EVOO (or any type of natural oil for that matter) into the relaxer mix, because this slows down the processing tiem for the relaxer (in other words, it buys you some time in applying the relaxer).