LHCF Newbie Here...Can you help me with my edges?

spellinto

Can any of you ladies help me? This has been a problem of mine for awhile in my hair journey. Once my new growth starts to come in, my hair reacts weirdly to being slicked down and I begin to see wet streaks from styling product (please see photo attachments...these are at different periods of my stretches throughout the past 2 years).

It seems no one on the planet has this problem but me! :perplexed Some products cause more streaking than others. I have tried gels (Ecostyler, Fantasia IC, 100% Aloe Vera Gel, and currently ORS Lock & Twist), waxes (Garnier Brilliante Wax, ORS Edge Control, Luster's Renutrient's Stick <--most disgusting!), and even just regular moisturizer (NTM Leave In, Garnier Leave-In) but I am hit with more or less the same effect every single time. What could be the problem? Is it my technique? I pretty sure apply small amounts into my hair. I get so bummed when I see ladies on Youtube brush their hair back with gel/styling product with no negative effects. Please help! :sad:

Attachments

• 11 wks post;  11-18-2011; hair dislikes gels, result in streaking (3).jpg
    11 wks post; 11-18-2011; hair dislikes gels, result in streaking (3).jpg
    511.8 KB · Views: 97
  • Braidout Pony at 8 weeks post (2).jpg
    Braidout Pony at 8 weeks post (2).jpg
    510 KB · Views: 93
  • Gel Causing Strands to Stick Together in Hard Streaks.jpg
    Gel Causing Strands to Stick Together in Hard Streaks.jpg
    517.4 KB · Views: 71
I get some streak-age but it usually drys clear or I will blot it with a towel or use a brush to distibute the product a bit more. Will yours dry streaky? That would suck (>_<)