I'm getting a weave!!!

HeChangedMyName

a full sew in. A friend of mine who did my hair in the past is doing it for me. Im going to get it after Thanksgiving so that it can last and stay looking good through all of December. It has been years since I've had a sew in so I am taking suggestions on all sorts of things like hair type, brand, etc. She does her closures in the top with a piece of weave rolled up and then sown so that it covers all the hair.

So what tips can y'all leave me with? Should I bother relaxing prior to the sew in or just leave my hair alone? Is it better to wash and blow dry my hair smooth or let it airdry so that it has some texture for the braids? what are the best weave friendly moisturizers for my hair underneath the weave? How often do I need to wash the weave and my hair underneath?

isawstars

I'm on my 2nd sew in and I'm still learning what's best through trial and error. but first... DO NOT RELAX BEFORE INSTALLING. As you know, relaxing weakens the bonds in your hair so the stress of the sew in may cause damage or breakage. There really isn't a reason to relax beforehand since you'll never see your hair anyways.

For washing... I used to dilute my shampoo or conditioner in a cup and pour it over my head, focusing on reaching my real hair. Many women do it but I experienced a lot of build up. So this time around I'm just rinsing with only water and using sea breeze on my scalp to clean it, and later moisturizing. The amount of times you want to wash is your preference... I rinse 2x a month to keep my hair lookin' fresh and not worn and tangled.

You can use your normal moisturizer for your hair underneath. There are also sprays specifically for braids and extensions such as BRX. It's soothing on the scalp.

Although I'm kind of a sew in newbie, I hope that helped a bit.

Last edited:

Lenee925