HELP! These braids are takin out my edges...

jtsupanova

Should I take them out? I got my hair done in medium/small sized braids with wet and wavy human hair about 2 weeks ago. It was very expensive I'd say about $200 dollars for the whole thing (hair included). I know the price dosen't matter but I mention the price because I'm a broke college student and I really don't want to waste my money. The braider did my braids really small and tight around the hairline and nape. Those braids were pulling out my hair horribly. I could see the bulb that you look for in shed hair through the actual braid. When I took the braids downs I lost atleast half of the hair that was in that section. So I took them down and did them over with bigger
parts and less tension. What I am worried is the weight from the extension hair on my own hair. Do you think it will do any further damage? Am I being too parinoid?
When I was getting my hair braided I told the braider she was doing them to small and too tight around the edges. She listened some what and lessened the tension but they were still really small... She acted as if I was overreacting and so did everyone else when I complained that the braids were pulling out my edges. I just don't want a thin hairline I have worked too hard.

Sorry about the vent maybe I am overreacting.
What methods do you ladies use to preseve your hairline in braids?
BTW I am following the Crown and Glory method TIA

Last edited:
I'm sorry for what you're having to go through. I don't think you're overreacting by any means. You were paying her and it was her job to listen to you and accommodate you when you told her you were experiencing discomfort and felt your hair was too tight! Seeing how you've experienced less than desirable results...I, IMHO, would take them out because to see the bulb of your hair isn't a good thing. You know your head better than anyone. I know some of the other ladies will be able to better help you.