4b Natural Curls

GodsPromises

The Credit Countess
I have been transitioning for 9 months now and I am really really thinking about a BC. Right now I wear my hair how in a twist out puff most days.

I really want to know what does other mostly 4b natural ladies use to make their curls pop. I would love to do a wash and go puff or something like that when not doing twist out. My hair grow out not down. Right now my hair is close to my ear and most of that is new growth. I probably have about 3 inches of relaxed hair ready to go.

Also, any and all products that you have found helped your hair as a 4b natural.

TIA

lovenharmony

ET / OT Bonafide Member
The only thing I know that is able to make 4B curls have definition is shingling. I don't know the process, but I think it includes adding a heavy amount of product on the hair. Usually 4B texture has no curl definition, although I think it depends on the hair's texture. Don't quote me, but I believe the ladies with a finer, more silky texture will have an easier time getting their 4B curls defined. It'll take much longer to try to get thick, course 4B hair to have noticable curls.

Nonie

Most of us 4Bs don't really care about curls popping. S Curl will make your hair curl back into a nice round afro but if you're talking about clumping spirals/coils, then that's something you'd achieve with shingling like Lovenharmony said.

When I used to hear this question, I just thought people wanted to get their hair to get coily and not be straightish, so I'd say S Curl does that. But S Curl just makes your hair shrink back into its coiled state and if you comb it, you get a circular shape. That's it.

The definition you're asking about doesn't happen easily with 4B coz the coils are too small to be seen, so even if you achieved it, from afar it'd not stand out like 4A.

prospurr4