You Ladies Really Inspire Me!

daniebee

I found this forum a few months ago and after lurking for awhile I had an epiphany...I do not have to be imprisoned to my hair. Two weeks ago while reading different threads I impulsively decided to take my weave out....right then. I did not have a plan for what to do once it was out, but I took it out anyway.

The first week I tried everything I had read about on the forum. I used baking soda, ACV rinse, salt, honey, olive oil, coconut oil, mayo, bananas, avocado, cholesterol etc. And, I bought lots of products ORS, VO5 Conditioners (5), Giovanni Magnetic Shampoo and Conditioner, Garnier, BioInfusion Olive Oil shampoo and conditioner, kinky curly cream, knot today and Sabino, just to name a few.

I do not have a regimen, yet. I am just co-washing and oiling my hair frequently, because my hair has been dessert dry my entire life and I thought that was just the way it had to be. I have been wearing a weave continuously for three years. My hair is shoulder length 4b/c (?) and in pretty bad shape, with breakage and extreme dryness. I have been natural six years. At the moment I am flat ironing once a week.
You ladies really inspire me. I love that you are so positive and encouraging all the time and willing to share what works and what does not with other people. Because of you I had the courage to take my weave out. Because of you I will not be spending $300 for a weave. I love all the pictures, I have gotten lots of ideas for hair styles. Just wanted to say thank you!

Welcome!!

You had me laughing with you trying everything you read about all in one week. Take it slooooooow.

I'm sure you'll find all you need here.

Welcome!!! I am also a relative newbie and I felt the same way when I first found the site, since then I have tried everything that I'm able to put my hands on. You learn something new each and every day from the wonderful people here!!!!