Weekly blowdrying with no heat protectant?

Kinkyhairlady

I am new to all this natural hairstyling so I may ask some dumb questions sorry. Anyways last night I washed and blowdried in order to stretch my hair a bit but I did not use heat protectant just knot today. I did not blowdry with a comb just pulled my hair straight and blew on it. Do you ladies think it will be safe to do this once a week without heat protectant? I just don't want to mis anything with the knot today. I have to admit my hair came out very nice. Slowly I'm learning.

I think if you'd like to maintain a healthy head of hair and remain with the natural curl pattern you have, then you should put on a heat protectant 100% of the time. You'd be doing a lot of damage by skipping this step. They don't call it a protectant for nothing.

No question is stupid girl!

And to answer your question.............I think you are really asking for trouble by not using a heat protectant. Heat dries out a lot of things. Look at prunes and raisins. Just bone dried up grapes and plums..............now imagine what heat does to hair.

so if I use a heat protectant do i put it over the leave in? will it affect my results? I don't even know what heat protectant to buy.

Chi silf infusion is a great heat protectant to use. It has silk amino acids in it, which leave flat ironed hair silky and shiny. I use it right before i blow dry my hair.

Kinkyhairlady you've been with us since 2003 and you're wondering if skipping the heat protectant is a bad idea? :lachen: