Weaves & Transitioning - Experts Wanted in Here!

05girl

Hi,

I am 7 going on 8 months post relaxer in my transition. I have a couple of inches of new growth (type 4 hair). Right now I am relying on heat every week, so I haven't given my hair much chance to develop its curls. (granted, i like wearing my hair straight; I'm not good at styling).

So I recently decided to weave it up for the FIRST TIME! But I am worried about blending. My friends are urging me to get 100% virgin indian remy... but I just don't know if it will match my hair. The stylists here in the ATL seem to supply their own good indian remy hair. I want either a straight or wavy weave (no curls, please). And I do not want a closure. I want the hair to last at least two installs. I also have committed to working out every day for the next 6 weeks, which means my edges will not stay straight. (which is fine, just want to not look crazy against the weave).

Based on research (mostly on BHM) I've determined:
Pros of virgin indian hair: curls and lasts longer.
Cons of virgin indian: may not match, may be too shiny
Pros of kinky/relaxed textured hair: probably will match better
Cons of textured hair: does not hold curls, may not last as long, may not be virgin

WHAT kind of hair should I buy?
---what brand
---what texture.
HOW can I ensure blend without flat-ironing my hair every day?

I am willing to spend around $300 for 8 oz. I am getting 12". My real hair is neck length at my chin, and i want the weave to hit around my shoulders/collarbone.

Tempted to get EPRT but it's a ton of money and not sure what color.
Really interested in Indique but - pure or bounce collection? and does not have great reviews on BHM.

TIA!!!!!!

Last edited:

ZkittyKurls