Twists without puffy roots, please!!

wyldcurlz

Everytime I try to twist my hair, the bottom looks good, but its so puffy at the root that it ruins the whole look! How can I twist so that my roots are tame? I must say that I'm not an expert at twists or braids so the idea of making a corn-row type braid at the root is a "no go" for me. I can't do it. :mad: Is there a way to part my hair or twist on an angle or anything I can do to make the root lay down a little flatter? (a lot flatter?)

Have you tried WGHO (or a creamy leave-in) on your roots? This always lays mine down when I'm airdrying.

i got over this ''issue'' a while ago...

but if u can braid at all u can start each twist with a braid...braid for about 1/2 inch then start twisting...i have only done it once...they were less puffy but i couldnt be takin up all that time on the regular...

whenever I do a twist-out or braidout- I always flatten the pouffy parts down with a wave cap and cover for a good hour. Yes it does look crazy, but it works :D

I run into this problem sometimes. all I can say is to try making the twists- like their actual individual size smaller, and wrap your hair every night. good luck!

Jessy55 said:
I braid the roots ( 1/2 to 1 inch most) tightly and twist the rest of my hair.
I do this too! But only for the front and back, the middle is twisted regularly...

Since my hair got thicker and longer...I just make smaller twists...and start really really close to the scalp...if you use a good moisturizer w/ definition like Asha's Mane attraction shouldn't have a problem.

I used to have this problem when I first started twisting my hair. Over time, I learned to do the twists tighter and smaller and they would be flat and uniform.

I think it helps with the "way" you grip the hair in the beginning...hold the two strands at the root close to your scalp and move down the twist as you go..keeping the grip tight.