Transitioning Q's???

Road2Health

Hello Ladies,

So I have decided to transition to natural but there are still so many things that I am confused about at this point:perplexed

My last relaxer was November 16, 2008 and my hair has been growing like crazy which I am loving but I am not sure what steps to take now that I have decided to transition. Could you ladies that have been in my situation before or are currently transitioning offer me any tips, products to use, hairstyles, ect?? TIA

I didn't want this to get lost so I thought I would respond... I'm completely new to the game eventhough I've been transitioning for awhile... it looks like you are at perfect bun length and all I can say is find your moisture and protein balance b/c that will get you through the tough times. I personally co-wash and DC about twice a week and add protein as needed... I use HE HH as a leave in (full strength) and seal with a mixture of coconut oil, shea butter, tea tree oil and olive oil with a little glycerin added in... I have also found that low to no manipulation is the best for transitioning (my hair at least)... I hope others will chime in and help you out... Welcome to the club sis!

That was nice Mook. The fotki's will be a great resource for transitioners.

My advice: Find a good shampoo, deep conditioner, wide tooth comb, moisturizer, and a style you can easily achieve (roller set, straw set, bun, braids). The rest is time and patience.

Here's my Fotki too http://members.fotki.com/mariag002/
Here's a great blog to help you with tips on transitioning: http://www.curlynikki.com/