The Spot That Won't Grow

kedra70

The Spot That Won\'t Grow

Does anyone have a 'spot' in their hair that's prone to breakage or won't grow? I've been noticing for the past four years that I have a spot in the back of my head (kind of in the middle of my head) that will grow so long - but then start to break.

If you have a problem like this, what products have you used? How long did it take you to see some progress? I don't put any unecessary stress on this area so I'm really puzzled.

Thanks,
Kedra

Nyambura

surfer girl
Re: The Spot That Won\'t Grow

Hi Kedra,

I have a spot just in front of my ear that is shorter than the rest of my hair. I keep it way more moisturized than any other part of my hair, always making sure to concentrate my conditioners/leave-ins there. I also put oil or conditioner on it right before I leave for my touchup so it will slow down the relaxer.

Massage is working for me. I noticed about an inch of growth in six weeks (my hair doesn't grow fast).

I too can't figure out why this one spot behaves that way, because it wasn't always that way...perhaps it's my scalp's way of showing it's allergic to hydroxide relaxers?
Anyway, I'm looking forward to other posts you'll get on this thread!

inthestars

I have that problem with my sides. I think that it takes time and TLC. I'm natural now so it is getting a little better.

kedra70

Thanks Nyambura! I've been thinking about massage - is there a certain motion I should use? Do you massage with oils to that spot or not? I will definitely try the massage and your idea about the oil to that particular area.

Thanks again for your suggestions!

Kedra

Karonica

I've been having problems with the sides of my hair forever, but especially when I got them cut short last year. It seems like they didn't want to grow back. But now, they're finally growing, and I think the key has been wearing that part of my hair unexposed. Weaving helped some too.

buffalosoldier