Slight confusion over trimming split ends

msbettyboop

I'm planning to trim my hair on Sat using a method I found online called twist and snip. Apparently, you part the hair into sections, twist a section all the way to the end and the hairs that stick out are split ends that should be trimmed. I twisted a section of my hair this evening and while there were split ends sticking out, there was also short strands of hair sticking out of the twisted hair all the way to the roots. Does this mean the entire length of my hair has split ends or something and I need to like cut everything off and start from scratch?

Sorry if this is a stupid question but I'm new to this healthy hair stuff. TIA.

panamoni

OP, do you mean the strands are actually split into two or more strands (e.g. if you took one single strand, it's split like a tree branch), or are your strands just uneven lengths?

Neith

I've never understood that method.

Say that you have BSL length hair...

That doesn't mean that EVERY SINGLE STRAND falls at BSL. Since all of your hairs are constantly shedding and growing back, you're definitely going to have lots of shorter hairs mixed in.

Of course shorter hairs are going to "pop out" It's normal to have lots of shorter hairs that are growing in.

I would only cut if you see actual split ends like Panamoni described :yep:

KrystalClear

That doesn't mean that EVERY SINGLE STRAND falls at BSL. Since all of your hairs are constantly shedding and growing back, you're definitely going to have lots of shorter hairs mixed in.

Of course shorter hairs are going to "pop out" It's normal to have lots of shorter hairs that are growing in.

I would only cut if you see actual split ends :yep:

I agree.
I tried this method, but I still feel like I have had some short ends.
I think the search and destroy method is the best!

msbettyboop