Relaxed hair holds moisture better than Natural hair?

MsLizziA

This is so random but i was sitting by my aunt's house (who is a hair dresser) and she has full APL hair, it might actually be a lil longer than that. But anyway i was watching as my other aunt blow dried and flat ironed her hair and i realized that even tho i follow the same exact process when i straighten my hair but it takes alot longer , alot more moisture, and alot more time consuming.

It just made me wonder if the hair cuticle on natural hair was more raised than relaxed hair. She only DC'd for a little while before she flat ironed it and it was so beautiful when it was done. Just a topic i would like to discuss :yep:

I'm not an expert but wouldn't that have to do with porosity? And there are so many different factors that would affect ones ability to hold moisture. I guess I think it's more complex.

I've always questioned this as well. You know what since naturally curly/coily hair has a tendency to be dry unless we thoroughly moisturize it, I think I would have to agree. I mean relaxed hair might require more protein but it is straight so, I dunno I'm a bit curious myself about this.

I'd say only if your natural hair had very low porosity. Anything that opened up the cuticle would help those with that issue (e.g. permanent hair dye). That said, some who have low porosity also have resistant hair and the chemical process may not take well? (Just putting that idea out there)

@MsLizziA, you're comparing hair that has had some bonds already broken so that it is basically straight with hair that has its bonds intact and therefore a longer journey to go. I mean, it's like the relaxed hair already has a head-start!

Also, I don't know what moisture has to do with getting hair straight, except that moisturized hair gives a less stiff and therefore better feeling/looking (softer) press. There are so many people who straighten their hair w/o even thinking of moisture.