Protein: How Should I Get Started?

Hi, beautiful peeps!

I hope you are progressing nicely on your HHJ.

I'm writing this post because I am ready to try adding protein into my hair care regimen, but I have no prior experience with this.

1. How would you get started if you were me?

2. Is it possible to permanently damage my hair if I do something with protein that my hair doesn't like?

3. How will I know if I'm doing it right?

4. What would you say are the does and don'ts of using protein?

5. Are there any warnings about using protein that you want to share and/or that you wish someone had given you?

6. Recommended products for moisture-protein balance?

Thanks in advance for any help you can share!

Blessings!

julzinha

Hi, beautiful peeps!

I hope you are progressing nicely on your HHJ.

I'm writing this post because I am ready to try adding protein into my hair care regimen, but I have no prior experience with this.

1. How would you get started if you were me?

I would say start with a price point you feel comfortable with. Also start with a reconstructor such as Aphogee 2 min and Joico K-Pak. Or a protein conditioner such as AO GPB

2. Is it possible to permanently damage my hair if I do something with protein that my hair doesn't like?

Not at all. All you have to do is a really moisturizing DC. And up your moisture.

3. How will I know if I'm doing it right?

If you hair feels stronger, but not brittle or like straw.

4. What would you say are the does and don'ts of using protein?

Start low and work your way up. Always do a moisturizing DC. Don't use protein too frequently or infrequently, but you have to determine that based on your hair. Don't listen to these naturals that think adding an egg to a conditioner constitutes a protein treatment, the protein must be hydrolyzed to penetrate.

5. Are there any warnings about using protein that you want to share and/or that you wish someone had given you?