Please explain this to me...

Elnahna

Here in Chicago they have recently discovered that the Cook County morgue literally has mounds of bodies stored. These bodies,that most were indigent, have been piled up months. It seems to be some confusion as to why they haven't been buried.

On the news last night they announced that ministers and pastors were going to the morgue to pray for the bodies. This is what I don't get :ohwell:
I don't understand why pray for the dead? I am still new in this walk and there's a lot I just don't know. Although, I've said,"RIP" , I haven't really questioned why? or what really happens. I cant remember being told or a teaching on, what we, Christians believe.

I am learning to stop mindlessly follow traditions and know for myself why things are done and if it honors God.

Please shed some light on this.

http://abclocal.go.com/wls/story?section=news/iteam&id=8520042&rss=rss-wls-article-8520042

LucieLoo12

I am learning to stop mindlessly follow traditions and know for myself why things are done and if it honors God.

This mindset is soooooo goood!!!

But honestly there isn't no point in praying for these dead bodies..Its nothing but flesh there and the bible says flesh and blood can't enter the kingdom of Heaven.
The moment those people died, they reached there destinations, whether it was hell or heaven.

Thats why we pray for people while they are alive because once they are dead its too late...

Good question :yep:

Laela

Sidestepping the "lynch mob"
I don't believe in praying for the dead..they are GONE. Jesus once told a young man to break away from tradition if he wants to follow Him. "Let the dead bury the dead" Jesus told him.

Here's a great explanation on this as well from GotQuestions.org:.

Question: "What does the Bible say about praying to / speaking to the dead?"