NONIE THE 4B EXPERT(and any other hairtype experts)...COME ON DOWN!

mamauv2

I've been a member for about three months now so I know your stance on 4b having curls. Back in Aug, when my hair was like the second pic in my siggy, you said you thought I was 4b and that once I got a little more hair :)lachen:) I would have to comb out those little curlies so they wouldn't get tangled and it would look like I didn't have any curls at all. I truly don't know my hairtype but even when I do comb my hair into a fro, you can see a curl/wave pattern (picture 3 in my siggy) SO my question is, maybe 4b is a little more rare than we think (if we're going by Andre's system). Maybe neither one of us are 4b and really just "highly textured" 4a's. I've always really wondered about this.

dicapr

I'm no expert, but I have both 4a and 4b hair on my head and their is no curl patter in my 4b hair. My 4b can sometimes look kinky wavy, but the 4a hair is a obvious curl patter. The 4a curls can combed out, but once moisture hits them, they curl back up.

prospurr4

I'm texlaxed now but was natural for over 20 years. I'm pretty sure my texture is mostly 4b 'cuz I have no curl pattern at all, just kinks.

Carrie A

I thought 4B was really really tight coils just tighter than 4a. Some please correct me if I'm wrong on that.

naturalgurl

I'm quite confused too. I have three textures and they're are distinct. I have 3c'ish around the hair line, 4a on the second level and the crown is 4b. My 4b section from a distance looks like cotton with no curl. When I look close it has a wave pattern close to the scalp and the ends have really tiny curls. But like I said, standing arms length away it just looks like afro hair.

RecipeBABY