NEWBIE HERE..DEPLOYED TO IRAQ

IRAQCHICK30

Hello ladies. I have been browsing your pages for months now and finally decided to join. I am currently deployed to Iraq and will be here until September. My hair is currently a little past my shoulders (will post pics when I get my camera) and it is very fine, so I havent had a relaxer since May, but you cannot really tell.

It is not really hard for me to grow my hair out here because it always has to be up anyway, so I have just been keeping it braided since September. I would like to join the APL challenge, and wanted to know how I could do that. Thanks. :grin:

Welcome :) You'll be surprised at how much length you retain by just leaving your hair alone and wearing it pinned up or in a bun.

Welcome to the boards and Iraq as well! I am no longer at VBC, I am in the IZ at the Embassy, BUT I have pointers from my time at VBC.

Going to VBC in 2005 all but stopped my hair growth. It took trial and error (and eventually leaving in 2007) that helped me get my hair back on track. I experienced extreme breakage and major setbacks with dryness and access to products. Back in those days, and still to this day, if you were not in a wet trailer you had to go to the community shower trailer. I cannot tell you how many times I went to wash my hair and there was either no hot water, or no water at all. I cannot tell you how many times the water itself was over-treated with chemicals and my scalp and skin would burn from it. The water was VERY hard, so please, use the bottled water to wash your hair.