Newbie at the Healthy Hair Journey

Taleah2009

Hello Ladies! I am a newbie to the health hair journey. I have been transitioning for nine months now. Whew go me! This is my second time transitioning. The first time I was in college and I totally went about it wrong. My hair was breaking really bad in the areas where my perm met my natural hair. So after about eight months, I got scared and ran back to the cream back.
So now i am back at it! And since discovering LHCF and all of you beautiful ladies with beautiful I have become slightly obsessed and filled with TONS of questions!
My first question is about listening to hair. I have been trying out different products and suggested methods that I have read in different threads (ie, moisturizing, sealing, ACV rinse) I have only been at this for two weeks now.
My question is how to understand what you hair likes and dislikes. I have never been one for subtle signs, I need obvious in my face signs:perplexed.
Also, how long into your healthy hair journey did it take for you to start to listen to your hair??
Thanks for your insight ladies! HHG!

BrooklynSouth

Welcome to the forum. Took me about a year of experimenting and patience with products to know what to do for my hair. I transitioned for about 15/16 months then chopped this past June. I'm at a new stage of experimentation but using products I already have. Patience with a few products at a time is the key; switching from one to another will not help you discover the great ones.

CTBhair

Welcome, I am a newbie to the forum and sort of early on my healthy hair journey. I have been without my relaxer going on 4 years but in May of this year I started taking care of my hair.