need help - self-applying semi-perm color...!

annieb

I'm sure this has been posted on but what is the best way to apply semi-perm color without someone to help me? I bought Adore (Copper Brown) and Colourshines red-ality and I'm going to apply one of them today. Should I just shampoo the color in and use a lot or should I be sparing about it and part my hair into sections. I just don't want to miss a spot. I remember when I tried to self-relax, I would part my hair into sections but something would always get missed or under-relaxed no matter how careful I was. It'll be so much easier just to pour it on my head but 1) I don't want to make a mess and 2) I don't want to "over-color" my hair in some spots and forget the back. I have to take some old rinses out which I will with metalex. Should I condition my hair before putting color in?

Lucia

Hi annieb,
I'm new to this semi-perm color as well, but you should PM the guru, Tracy about this.
hth

C

Cami

When I apply my semi-permanent color, I part my hair in 4 sections (ear to ear, hairline to nape). Within those sections, I make smaller parts and start putting the color throughout my hair. I leave it on with a plastic cap and sit under the dryer for about 25-30 mins and rinse out. I always condition my hair before applying the semi-permanent color. The reason is because I want the color to last as long as possible. If I were to apply the color first then condition it, it will take out most of the color sooner than it needs to be. I can't wait for my next touchup because I'll be putting a dark brown rinse on my hair to cover my streaks. Keep us posted on how it turns out!

Kamilla16

HI
I am also thinking about getting a semi-perm color, but I dunno when or what color I should get? What colors look good on brown skin tones?

annieb