My hair sheds like crazy when I wash. I think it's too elastic!

SleepyJean

My hair sheds like crazy when I wash, and those shed hairs cause tangles in some areas. As I finger comb, I feel and see nothing but shed hairs coming out.

Do you all know what the heck is going on? I think my hair maybe too elastic, although, my hair doesn't appear any longer than its original length when wet. It almost feels too stretchy. Can overly elastic hair cause shedding?

I'm not sure if your hair can be too elastic. If it is stretchy and not springing back then I think it is lacking in elasticity. Have you tried a protein conditioner/treatment (followed by a moisturizing condish). I'm not an expert on elasticity or protien though. I hope someone can help you stop the shedding.

What kind of products are you using? When my hair begins to shed a lot its because it didn't like something i used/did.

I recently switched up stylists, and he used a different relaxer on my hair, and since then, I've noticed increased shedding. I am trying to get this back under control. Shedding can also be due to chemical overprocessing/overlapping during relaxers.

I would try a protein (or garlic) treatment and see if that doesn't help out a little.

Last edited:
What kind of products are you using? When my hair begins to shed a lot its because it didn't like something i used/did.

I recently switched up stylists, and he used a different relaxer on my hair, and since then, I've noticed increased shedding. I am trying to get this back under control. Shedding can also be due to chemical overprocessing/overlapping during relaxers.

I would try a protein (or garlic) treatment and see if that doesn't help out a little.

Thank you! That's a good idea. I should buy a garlic conditioner. I think I've heard of this. You are not helping me with my pjism. :nono: