Micro braids.

Vinyl

Hi everyone. :) I've been wearing extensions for the past few months, and I miss the versatility of wearing non-sewed in hair. I want to get micro braids. I've read numerous threads on them, and the general consensus seems to be against getting them. Is it safe to wear micro braids without extensions? I wasn't sure if the wear and tear on the hairline only happened with the pull of extensions, or something like that.

(As you can see, I'm a braid newbie. Used to wear them all the time when I was younger, but that was my parents doing. :) )

Also, is there a thread that gives advice on how to care for braids sans extensions? I found one but I think it was made for extensions, because it mentioned diluting the shampoo and such. Should I just follow those instructions, only using everything at full strength?

Yah.... sorry for the long post there. :)

ajoyfuljoy

I must admit that I don't know. I'd be curious to see how you seal the ends without the weave.

You said "Yah"

Do you know Polish people? I'm not trying to be silly but seriously though. I know a lot of Polish people and that's how they say "Yes", they be like "Yah" all the time.

klb120475

I must admit that I don't know. I'd be curious to see how you seal the ends without the weave.

You said "Yah"

Do you know Polish people? I'm not trying to be silly but seriously though. I know a lot of Polish people and that's how they say "Yes", they be like "Yah" all the time.

I see you ajoyfuljoy...............:grin:

jasmine26

I just put braids in my hair w/o extensions. This is my first time using my own hair, so i can't offer too much advice on how to care for them yet. I'm thinking i'll just wash them normally in 2 weeks and put some type of leave in daily. I like my braids curly, so I dampen the ends at night and sleep on satin rollers. So far so good. I don't foresee me getting any damage since their not too small, not tight, and i'm using my own hair.

hth,jasmine!

Nonie