Keeping Hair Healthy in Microbraids

luv4real

Hi all!! I'm a newbie here and this is my first thread...so please bare with me. Well, I am currently transitioning to natural, I'm about 2 1/2 months post relaxer and I'm getting microbraids tomorrow. This is not the first time I've had microbraids...I get them often. However, this is the first i've had them since i've gotten hip to this hair board, and others, and have been taking good care of my hair. I have been washing my hair with shampoo about once a week and co-washing maybe 2-3 times a week. I would still like to wash my hair often with micros but I don't want them to become frizzy and start looking bad. I know the key to maintaining hair in micros is keeping them moisturized. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to properly maintain hair while in micros? What's a good braid spray? Is it safe to do ACV rinses with them, and if so, how often? How can I keep my scalp clean and free from buildup without full-out washing the braids so often? I am also using MTG quite regularly...can I still do this with micros? Please help...I want the take down process to be as smooth as possible, with as much growth as possible, and the least hair lost as possible. All suggestions are welcome!!

TIA!!!:)

luv4real

thanks destiny616 and yes I have seen that site. I was just wondering if anyone had any other suggestions...anything anyone has done differently in caring for their hair while in micros.

fallback

Hey Lady and Welcome!!!