Is it okay to flat iron w/o a protectant?

Glib Gurl

I am new to flat ironing. I don't have any particular product that I would use to protect my hair when flat ironing. Is it really necessary? (I would likely flat iron after washing and blowdrying . . . at most I might use some Motions Foaming Wrap setting lotion or something. Is this sufficient?)

Thanks!

Considering that your blowdrying i would use a heat protectant. I C fantasia is a cheap and readily available heat protectant people on this board use. There are loads in the supermarket/drugstore. Rather be safe than sorry.
HTH

i wouldn't risk it if i were you... heat damaged hair sucks. trust me i'm speaking from experience. :perplexed

you don't have to use a lot of stuff and weigh your hair down/have it sticking together, if that's what you're worried about...

GG, I wouldn't do it. Blowdrying AND Flatironing?? NO! I airdry and flatiron and I use a heat protectant. Besides most of those protectants help make the process easier, which in turn, can prevent you from using more heat to achieve the style you want.

PLZ PLZ PLZ use a heat protectant!

I went for years not using one & eventually burned my hair!

Now even though it's growing, I still lose length waiting for the burned part to grow/break off!

I have used IC, but now I have fallen in love w/ CHI.

But, yes, use something!!

Like everyone else said, don't do it. The high heat from blow dryers and flat irons is very damaging, your hair needs all the protection it can get. At least use some type of serum that has cones in it. The Fantasia serum is good.

Yikes - thanks for the warning folks! So, is the motions product I use insufficient? Should I get a protectant specifically designed for flat irons? (I just bought a CHI - it was on sale! - but I haven't used it yet.)

Glib Gurl said: