Help...How do I stop breakage at the crown?

bbdgirl

Ladies,
I need your help. My hair grows at a decent clip, but the hair at the crwon area never seems to catch up. It has always grown like that and I accepted that that is just how my hair grows, but I see women on the board with extremely long hair that is long from the crown and even with the rest of their hair. How do you do it?
What else do I need to do to make this hair stop breaking?:wallbash:

Well, mine stop breaking when I stop wrapping it so much. HTH

Ah hah...I had a feeling this was the culprit! I have been wrapping my hair for the last 2-3 years. I didn't notice the short hairs because all of it was short. Now that it's growing out, I can definitely tell the difference. Dang, I might have to lay off the wrapping.:ohwell:

But it was like this even when my hair was natural. Since High school b4 i started wraopping my hair. But then again it is like a whole different texture. when i add water and grease or gel to my hair to make nice coily curls it never resposnds. It is just rude and rough. Not nappy just frizzy and refuses to coil, curl or grow. I know that I can't change the texture but how do I retain length?

my thoughts: (I also suffer from crown breakage periodically)

This might be the dryest/coarsest/weakest part of your hair...since many of us have more than one texture, maybe u get breakage there bc u treat it the same way as the rest of your hair.

You will have to start paying extra attention to it...always apply extra conditioner to that area, extra moisturizers/oils, and massage it to encourage growth. The last time I got breakage there it was during a long stretch and I was wearing a lot of wash n go's...my hair would be extra dry in the top of the back area and thats where it broke.