HELP!!!! Affirm relaxer ...good for damaged hair?

Ladibug

Please help, I need a really moisturizing relaxer....Is anyone familar with this product and how has it worked for your hair?

[ QUOTE ]
I have been transitioning since Sept of 2003, wearing braids (for the 1st time in my life) since late Jan 2004.

The first set of braids went well, considering that I did not know much about taking care of braids, until after joining this forum....and after 3 braiders, 6 hours, worring and adjusting--> (after a horrible detangling process somehow
my hair survived..a little thin, but longer) All after wearing the braids for 3 1/2 months!!!

THIS TIME however, I went to a friend's hair braiders - 3 hour braids with 3 braiders (did not realize the time saved is because they don't braid all the way to the end of your hair).
Wore these braids for 2 months (Sprayed Surge religiously, used Shea butter for my scalp, even had them washed, sprayed a conditioner spray on daily if not 2x/ day...had massages to scalp and a friend put Pink Oil Moisturizer on them)......when getting them taken out --> only allowed them to use CO and Unbraid spray (got that from here) versus the shampooing and brushing them out that I experienced the 1st time. Results!!!!!--> MY HAIR IS HORRIBLE, WORST THAN BEFORE I GOT THE BRAIDS!!!! THIN, SEVERELY UNEVEN....SHORT IN THE CENTER BACK, 10 inches in one area, 4-6 on the opposite corresponding side, thin, dry, brittle.....a horrible mess. I was in tears I was so upset.

I was looking forward to our local meeting, hoping to have some nice new growth and length to start my journal with since I was finally coming out of braids...... Now I just need help. I am going to the hairdresser tommorrow (Monday) for deepconditioning/texturizer.