Got new breakage~ need help! (kinda long story)

teacherjess

I am a 4ish, fine haired relaxed head that is currently 2 weeks post relaxer. Just in the past few days I have noticed breakage and shedding. I know I have both because I'm finding both long and short pieces (those w/ white bulb and those without) in comb, on sink, on back of shirt, etc.

I am a bit of a newbie and so I've been researching past threads and read that fine hair needs more protein than normal and coarse heads. However, when I incorporate med. or heavy protein my hair turns a frizzy, hard and dry mess everytime and no amount of moisture afterwards can fix that until I shampoo again. Eggs w/ amla oil mixed as a pre- poo works well for me, but is that a light, medium, or hard protein? And is doing it weekly too much?

I find I have the best results when I clarify often. I use Keracare 1st lather, then use a moisturizing shampoo afterwards and DC w/ heat of course. Is this product ok to use weekly? Or is that too often? I am almost positive that I have breakage from product buildup. My hair is limp, oily, and I've overdosed on product lately.

Tomorrow is wash day and I am planning on clarifying, then washing with a moisturizing poo, doing a hardcore 2step Aphogee treatment, then a moisturizing DC w/ heat for 40 mins. to stop the breakage and give my hair a fresh start.

Please reply if you can answer these two questions. Thanks and sorry for the long post!:spinning:

curlicarib

Lovin'' All of Me
My guess is too much protein. When I first started my HHJ and discovered the moisture/protein balance, I tried the weekly protein treatments. I quickly learned it was too much. With trial & error I've reduced it to every 6 weeks. Try less protein.

HHJ

MA2010

Do you clarify every week?

If so, you might want to decrease the frequency. Clarifying shampoos can be very drying.

Esq.2B