Flat Iron Technique Question

BioGeekChic

Maybe someone can help me...
I haven't had a perm in almost 6 months so I have a lot of new growth. I just purchased a Sedu flat iron (1.5") and today I tried to flat iron my hair (on a clean head of hair off course). My hair turned out to be dry and kind of sticky (too much heat protectant?). And I wasn't even able to get to my roots straight or flat. I have very thick hair so am I expecting too much from my flat iron in hoping that I can get hair that looks and feels relaxed? Or am I doing something wrong? Any suggestion would be very helpful including your own personal techniques for flatironing your hair.

Thanks in advance...:)

Sorry if this seems like a dumb question but I have never flat ironed my hair before this first try so I am still learning how to flat iron properly.

Last edited:

NuMe2004

Hi there,

I am all natural, so I hope I can still help. I flat iron my hair regularly, sometimes as often as once a week. It took me a long time to learn how to flat iron my hair properly, so I must say that practice definitely makes perfect. However, I think it's a combination of products and technique.

As for products, I would recommend a moisturizer that is not too heavy. I highly recommend Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Moisturizing lotion. I have also started using something called You Straight, which has been working well for me also.

In addition to finding the right moisturizer, I would also say that allowing my hair to air dry 80% before blow drying with a CERAMIC (use anything other than a ceramic dryer, and your hair can fry!) blow dryer helps get my hair really straight. Check out my photo album for more advice. I have an entire album dedicated to the straightening process.

Good luck!

BioGeekChic

NuMe2004 said:
Hi there,