Did Canaan REALLY sexually abuse his grand father?

Blaque*Angel

This is my first time posting on this board so hi and blessings to all :wave:

OK, I have a dilemma, i have a newborn child whom I strongly want to name Canaan (promised land)

after looking in three different bibles new testament, king james and good news bible i see different events. in the king james bible it appears canaan raped his grand father noah whilst noah was drunk? is this correct?

this has put a dampener on me naming my child this name, although i want to name him after israel not noah's grandson.

help please

:rosebud:

Joyful1

Hi BAngel,

First, Congratulations! In the reference you gave it was Ham (the father of Canaan): Genesis 9:22 (King James Version) - And Ham, the father of Canaan, saw the nakedness of his father, and told his two brethren without.

Ham slept with his father's wife, as defined in Leviticus 20:11 - And the man that lieth with his father's wife hath uncovered his father's nakedness: both of them shall surely be put to death; their blood shall be upon them.

Oh, and the curse that was pronounced came from Noah, not from God.

There must be a reason that name is on your heart. Pray about it and you'll be fine.
Best of luck to you.

kayte

Welcome Blacque Angel ;)
Congratulations!

While,personally, I love that name and what it means and that you sought a very special blessing name for your new precious baby....

There must be a reason that name is on your heart. Pray about it and you'll be fine.

this answer by Joyful1 is wonderful guidance
:)
xoxo

Blaque*Angel

When Ham entered Noah's tent and saw his naked father, he told his two brethren. The verb "saw" means more than a casual glance. It indicated that Ham gazed with satisfaction at his father. Although Ham did nothing to his father, disrespect and possibly evil thoughts that occurred when he gazed on his father brought condemnation on Ham.