Confused about combing when wet or dry

apemay1969

Whenever my hair is even moist from my moisturizer - ors olive oil - my hair comes out all over my hands and/or the comb. :nono: The only time my hair does not seem to rub off is when it is completely dry. How do I wash, moisturize and generally take care of my hair if everytime an eensy bit of water touches it, it slides off my head? I cannot detangle without something sliding off - even after protein. I just got my BT - thanks naturallady - and I was using Vatika and my hair felt strong but I thought that I may need some moisture. Well, i put the olive oil moisturizer in my hair and there it went again, filling the palm of my hand.

Do I have to moisturize to keep my hair healthy? Can I just use Vatika daily and prepoo, wash and deep condition twice a week? I dunno, guys. I'm still a newbie and I need some help with this one.

LadyPaniolo

Wow, now I've heard everything! What an unfortunate problem to have. Does your hair break when you comb it dry? If it only breaks when wet, but doesn't break when dry... then you should definately comb it dry.

Maybe someone with some experience in this area will chime in... good luck

glamazon386

That might be an indication that your hair is over moisturized. Does it feel mushy when it's wet and these pieces are coming out?

PinkPeony

Is your hair breaking or shedding?
If it's shedding you have a white bulp at the end of each strand and a certain amount of shedding is normal:yep:

If it's breaking please do a strand test before you do anything else to find out what you need(protein or moisturize)

Having said that I don't moisturize daily... maybe every other day.
If I'm co-washing daily or every other day I randomly moisturize depending on my hair's dryness:yep:
I also prefer to comb or detangle my hair when it's damp b/c wet hair means that my hair can get stretched out beyond oblivion and eventually will break if I'm not careful.

apemay1969