Advice to a newbie on keeping 4c natural hair moisturized and ayurveda routine

sahara123

Hi everyone:),

I am a newbie on this forum, so please excuse me if I don't know the answers to these questions.

I experienced major hair breakage of my natural 4c hair, so I subscribed to learn from you and to have more motivation on my hair journey. I prefer using ayerveda products because they are more natural. Is there a challenge going on so can join please?

I have been pre-pooing with coconut oil, castor oil, black seed oil mixed with some ayurvedic powders (amla, brahmi, bringraj, shikakai, fenugreek and a bit of MSM powder). I have doing it but I don't really like it because my hair feels oily and brittle, although it's certainly super nourishing. I need to wash my hair at least 3 times before all the oils go and sometimes I still feel some powders in it. Then I deep condition with shea moisture treatment, which makes my hair super soft.

How efficient is pre-pooing with hot oil treatment please? Won't the oil on the hair block the deep conditioning I do afterwards? How do you handle this? Or do you do each step on different days of the week?

My hair is very coily and dry. Are products like S-curl better for moisturizing? I love Shea moisture leave-ins but they contain some oils. So are they really moisturizing products? What would be better to moisturize 4c natural hair please?

I thank you in advance for all your advice and thanks for having me on this forum:)

VictoriousBrownFlower

ayurvedic powders can act as a protein on the hair making it dry and brittle if used to often.... The same thing with coconut oil.... I would say get rid of the prepoo or prepoo with something moisturizing. If u want u can blend a avocado banana honey and castor oil maybe even some aloe vera juice to make ur own moisturizing prepoo. Then dc with shea moisture after shampooing. What leave in are u using? Are u moisturizing and sealing throughout the wk?

sahara123

Hi,