A Hair Snob's Cheapie Discovery

Browndilocks

Browndisha Brownie Sundae
If you like to use a wax stick to lay down your edges after a nice press without reversion, I highly reccommend Keracare Wax stick:

http://www.amazon.com/Avlon-Kera-Care-Styling-Stick/dp/B000NNG936

But if you want to use a wax that is equally effective for about 1/4 of the price, I highly reccommend Pantene Sculpting Wax:

http://www.pantene.com/en-US/product/texture_sculptingwax.jspx

I was really impressed when I had a friend use this on me after getting my hair pressed. I actually love the Keracare Wax Stick, but the Pantene is really a great alternative that is not too greasy and thick. Best of all, your hair stays soft and will not revert from using it. Another plus is that it comes in a little jar, allowing you to manipulate the product to your liking instead of dealing with the friction of a stick. It gets a thumbs up :up:.

ladytee2

I have never used a wax stick before. Just curious. I know you said to put on your edges but does it make your hair stringy and weighed down the next day? Does it leave build up?

Honey Bee

Re: wax sticks leaving build-up

It's a legitimate concern, one that I had as well, but when I ordered my Wen, their wax stick came with the package so I tried it on my new growth, and it was the bomb. No build-up on my fine 4 a/b strands, mainly because I only used it on the very edges, ie, my 'baby hair'*. Now, I generally don't mess with Pantene like that, so I can't speak on this particular product.

(* I just :barf: a little in my mouth typing that, but that's the only way I can describe it :lachen:)

Tee

I have never used a wax stick before. Just curious. I know you said to put on your edges but does it make your hair stringy and weighed down the next day? Does it leave build up?

co-signing.
No, it doesn't leave build up for me.
No, it didn't leave my hair stringy or weighed down. (used it only on my edges.)

*I have used the one at Sally's in the gray tube.*