Why are my strands splitting?

Belle Du Jour

When my hair sheds (or breaks) and I examine the strands, they are extremely fine, and split! I don't get it. I've been loving my hair for 2 years now: treating it right, giving it TLC, staying away from harsh products, praying to God. And still I get no love in return. What's a girl to do?

I'm at the point where I just want to shave my head off. But that would make me :cry2: Because I really want long hair! But I'm starting to believe that it isn't possible. Any suggestions?

I'm at the end of my rope. . .

Vintagecoilylocks

Classimami713,

I was looking at your journal. One thing first even when we decide we are going to take care of our hair and learn things to do we may still be going about it wrong or not to the best of our hair. I went through this. made some progres but still had breakage and dry hair.

First the hair that was damaged still needs to grow out. Some damage cannot be repaired. so you may still have some of that hair on your head.

Now if you have fine hair like you say in my opinion you may be still strping it to much. Conditioner still has the elements of shampoo just diluted and with other ingredients. So you may want to do only CW and do away with shampoo. That change made significants positive results for me. No matter how gental the shampoo unless a simple natural one it may still be more than you need. The conditioners will add moisture.

Then reevaluate your moisturizing items. Try changing from a conditioner fro pre-poo to a simple oil and honey. Add honey to final conditioner.
Let dry naturally and examine if hair is dry or moist. If moist then it is a good balance. If dry change conditioners or stretch out washing. If moist now you want to experiment with what will retain moisture while letting in more moisture during day. An alchohol free glycerin product maybe. So you need your emoillient also.