DIYers who trim on relaxer day ***** Question for you *****

hairdrama:{

Hello ladies,

I'm getting ready to relax next week and I'll be doing a much needed trim (have not trimmed or dusted for a year :blush:). This will be my first time self-trimming so I'll take my time. I was wondering, whenever you trim on relaxer day do you:

1. Get your hair super straight = you flat iron
2. Get your hair straight with some wave patterns = roller set + wrap

I usually don't flat iron my hair on relaxer day 'cause I don't want to abuse my hair but this is my first time trimming, what do you all suggest?

I also do color showers on my relaxer day so the whole process (relax, color shower, dry & style...:look:) requires a lot of time and manipulation.

What do you recommend???

I think either way is appropriate, as long as you get your hair reasonably straight. Your hair could get easily jacked if you cut it when your hair is misrepresenting its length by being wavy/wiry, so if you can rollerset than straighten it by blowing the hair out, go for it, flat ironing might be easier.

I get it straight by flat ironing it.. I couldn't imagine trying to trim if my hair wasn't straight....

Last edited:
Great question OP! I just texalxed, dried under a dryer (no rollers), flat ironed and dusted my ends with no problem TODAY. I like to do it this way because my hair curls tight in rollers. Flat ironed straight hair helps me see my ends better as well!!! HTH!