A Stylist's Guide to Better Salon Experiences (I hope)

balisi

A Stylist's Guide to Better Salon Experiences (I hope) -- Kinda Long

Hi Ladies!

I've been doing plenty of thinking about the negative salon/stylist experiences many of you have suffered. As a professional hair stylist, I believe I may be able to pinpoint the root causes of at least some of the problems. I'd like to use this thread as a guide to more positive salon/stylist experiences for all who seek to patronize them. Following are some of the issues I have seen mentioned on this forum.

Quality of salon/staff: There's a lot to be said for the type of salon some of you have patronized. Ladies, stop frequenting "trailer park," "ghetto" or "alley" salons. I define "ghetto/trailer park" more as a state of mind and behavior than an actual place. If wares are being sold by outside vendors, customers (and perhaps stylists) are eating a two-piece combo in the styling area, and/or stylists are holding long cell phone conversations while working, it's probably a "ghetto/tp" salon. The salon should be at least reasonably clean and orderly during the day and always clean first thing in the morning. If you do not receive courteous and professional service from the moment you make your appointment, proceed with caution. Keep in mind that it is possible that whomever booked your appointment is not indicative of the type of service you will receive at that establishment. But if you continue to get less than the standard of customer service you expect, be prepared to take your business elsewhere. This can be done at any step in the process, but by the time you get into the styling chair, you should have a good idea of how your visit will go.