Excercise and Hair Care Support Thread

tryn2growmyhair

Hi Everyone,
I've noticed that a few posters (myself included) have mentioned the difficulties of working out while trying to grow our hair. That in mind, I thought that I would start a support thread for those of us who are trying to workout and keep in shape while growing out our hair. Any tips that you have will be warmly welcomed :grin: .

I'll start with my tips. I am still learning and am a tryo beginning my hair journey compared to some of you maestros, but I will put in my two cents: Before coming to this board, I would work out at least five days a week and try to blow dry my hair hair and roots after each workout to hold on to my Dominican rollerset. I would also wash my hair every 7-14 days.
My hair has grown by increasing the number of times I wash my hair each week. I now wash at least two days a week, more if I get the itchies, and ALWAYS deep condition under a heating cap after each wash. So my hair is being deep conditioned twice a week at least. Also, I dropped the blowdryer and have cut back from my once a week Dominican rollersets. Instead, I let my hair airdry with UBH moisturizer, Bumble and Bumble Leave In, Oils and other conditioners and keep it in a bun. It would be too much for me to be trying to rock a Dominican rollerset when my hair and scalp are getting sweaty every day.

I hope that more of you will share your tips.
All the best,
Tryn2growmyhair

webby

Think Slim
My hair is just way too thick to wear my hair in a wrap after working out.

What I do is, my regular rollerset, blow my roots, but then rather than do a wrap, I do pin curls. My hair holds curls really well, so even if my hair droops after a work out, I can just pin it up again in the evening and BAM! Curls again.