Should a daily moisturizer be water-based?

soulie

I've been using Jane Carter Solution Nourish and Shine for the last couple of weeks as a daily moisturizer and I love it! Today I recommended it to someone in another thread. A member responded and said she likes it but doesn't consider it a daily moisturizer because it doesn't have water. It works great for me, but I'm just wondering, is it truly a daily moisturizer?

The well-loved ones, e.g., Elasta QP Mango Butter, Hawaiian Silky 14-in-1 and NTM Silk Touch Leave-In don't work for me at all, so maybe my hair is just being "special"?

Last edited:

TheQueenBeeMaya

i'm a newbie, so i'm sure someone else could offer better advice, but i don't use a daily moisturizer that's water based because i have pressed hair and that would cause reversion

Golden75

#NOMOREHAIRPRODUCTS
i just started using the JC Nourish and Shine, and my hair has never felt better! I used the Elasta Qp, water based right, my hair was dry and frizzy with in 30 mins of using it. Giving it to madukes to use on her weave. I have been using NTM silk touch and Abba nourishing daily leave in. They are ok, but still not enough, not long lasting like the nourish and shine. my hair has never felt better than with the nourish and shine. It must depend on your hairs needs. I figure I'll use the water base every few days. Its crazy how the un-water based product leaves my hair feeling great and the water base, is not even coming close.

msa

Water is the only true moisturizer. But, the JC could have conditioning and nourishing (obviously since it's called nourish and shine) properties that help to keep your hair moisturized, pliable, and feeling good. Especially if your DC leaves your hair well moisturized already.

If it's working for you, keep using it.

soulie