Coconut Oil MOISTURIZES?

MirrorDoll

:confused:

First of all... hello everyone! It's my first time making a thread here. I've been lurking for a quite a bit, so I'm not a real newbie. I decided to join because I love the atmophere here (most of the time :lol:). There is a much nicer vibe here than most other hair boards.

Onto the question!

I always believed that oil doesn't moisturize. Water is moisture. Oils are good to lock the water in, but really not beneficial to use on your hair if your hair isn't already moisturized.

I already knew that many natural carrier oils can penetrate the hair, but I never thought of that as moisturizing.

However, some members informed me that some oils can moisturize! Coconut oil mainly, also olive oil.

What are your thoughts on this?

DaRealist

Coconut oil is a great moisturizer and I categorize it, personally, as a different type of oil because it's rather fatty. Coconut oil can penetrate the strands unlike some other oils that are better for coating and sealing moisture in.
Here's some info that really pushed me to using coconut oil more frequently:

Coconut oil is one of the best natural nutrition for hair. It helps in healthy growth of hair providing them a shinny complexion. Regular massage of head with coconut oil ensures that your scalp is free of dandruff, lice, and lice eggs, even if your scalp is dry. Coconut oil is extensively used in the Indian sub-continent for hair care. It is an excellent conditioner and helps in the re-growth of damaged hair. It also provides the essential proteins required for nourishing damaged hair. It is therefore used as a hair care oil and used in manufacturing various conditioners, and dandruff relief creams.

Mumbai, India - Researchers conducted a study to determine if coconut oil is an effective treatment for dry, damaged hair.