Relaxer experts please help (pics included)!!!!

Kellum

I'm a newbie in dire need of help! I need to get a corrective relaxer like yesterday. I am currently 7 weeks post. I tried to relax my hair after almost 2 years of growing it out and the relaxer didn't take. My hair is severly under processed. I was going to wait until I got to 12 weeks but I just can't take it any more. I'm thinking about relaxing this weekend or maybe next week when I make 8 weeks post.

I would go to my old stylist in but he is unreliable. He stood me up on my wedding day and other occasions after that. I pretty much left him alone. He always did a good job with my hair and it was healthy but I just don't trust him anymore. Plus I don't have 6 hours to waste at the salon and he is very scissor happy.

I decided I would give someone a try out where I am locally. I went to the JCPenny salon and spoke with stylist and explained my situation. I saw that they use Mizani and Affirm relaxers. She suggested that I get an Affirm relaxer because the relaxer has a protectant that will keep my hair from over processing. She said that she would just apply the relaxer to my NG and then smooth it to the ends about the last 5 mins or so and that it would come out straight.

I am a little concerned because my hair is very, very, very under processed and I don't think 5 mins will be enough. What if it doesn't get straight and I am back in the same situation. Plus I read on here that Affirm tends to dry your hair out and I don't want that. What do you ladies think?

1. Is the Affirm relaxer a good one to use or should I get the Mizani?

2. Is the Affirm relaxer drying to the hair after a while?

3. Do you think that 5 mins will be sufficient time to get the remainder of my hair straight?