PLEASE, NEWBIE NEEDS HAIR TYPING AND BREAKAGE & AIR DRYING HELP! (LONG)

Lilpaw

:newbie:

Hey Ladies,
After stalking forever, I’m finally getting the courage to post. I am very new to this hair care thing and I have learned so much from all of you but I’m still having issues.

After roller setting and bonnet drying for 20 years I let my friends and family talk me into allowing my stylist to blow dry and hot curl/flat iron my hair once a week. It was a huge time saver for me (as opposed to the 3 hours it takes to dry my hair in rollers under the dryer) and she thought that with leave in conditions and heat protection, her Chi Blow Dryer and flat iron wouldn’t damage my hair. BIG MISTAKE!! :hammer: After just two months of this abuse my hair is shredded. Breaking, splitting, shedding, you name it. :cry:

I am currently 8 weeks into a 12 week relaxer stretch and I have canceled all hair appointments until then. At my touch up, I plan to let her trim my ends and maybe begin texlaxing (Isis you’re my hero but I can’t get with the vegetarian thing LOL). In the meantime I have been mixing and matching everybody’s regimens. I’m still having problems with breakage. :cry2:

On Wednesday I clarified, Emergenceed, deep and daily conditioned (Humectress, Headress, HB Carrot Crème?) and sealed (Keracare or Asante Oils). I am limited to these products because I am limiting protein and currently no-coning to alleviate any moisture barriers to my hair.