PLEASE HELP---where is it going

lovelyyardie

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie who's been registered for a couple of weeks but this is my veyr first post
smile.gif
... Well a bit about my hair---I'm a 3c/4a with VERY thick mid-back length hair; my hair is very reminiscent of the girl who played Rudy in the Cosby show but it looks slightly different. Anyways I've been transitioning since last May but I'm not sure when, if ever, I'm going to do the big chop.
My problem is that although I've been transitioning for close to a year, I can't tell a difference in growth (in fact it looks maybe like it's shorter). I know that over this time span my hair has grown about 5 to 6 inches (since I would measure the roots of my braids) but I cant tell the difference. Since June, I have worn nothing but braids and cornrows and everytime I take them out it seems like my hair is the exact same length as when I put them in (or even shorter
mad.gif
) although I can see new growth. I know that there is a possibility of hair breaking from the difference in two textures, however I'm not sure that it's happening in my case since the textures arent THAT different (since my hair was more texturized than relaxed) and also my hair would be in braids for a couple of months and IMMEDIATELY after I took them out I couldn't tell a difference. Now I compare my hair's growth right after I take the braids out and wash my hair and it's dripping wet and fairly straight since I get hella shrinkage when it's dry. I am at my wits end with this thing because I feel like I haven't made any progress in a year
frown.gif
If anyone could explain what exactly is happening to me, if in fact this is normal or if my hair is indeed maybe breaking in the braids, I would greatly appreciate it