Newbie Here -- Trying to keep away from the scissors!

zazzi

Hi Ladies!

I've been lurking on the board for almost a year, and just signed up within the last couple weeks. I'm transitioning from relaxed to natural, and my last touch-up was in January. I love feeling my curls/coils, and I can't keep my hands out of my hair. :grin: I think I'm ready to do the big chop TONIGHT, but I don't want to be hasty and end up regretting it! Some words of encouragement/discouragement :yep:/:nono: would be greatly appreciated right about now! :spinning:

Thanks!

msa

:welcome4:

Keep your eyes on the prize and don't BC until you have enough hair to be comfortable.

Bettina

Hi Zazzi! Welcome!!!
Like the ladies said please wait until you are comfortable with the amount of Newgrowth to BC. :) You will be amazed what styles you can do while transitioning. HHG!

SEMO

First off, welcome to the forum!!

Congrats on your transition. To be sure you won't regret your bc, are there any length goals you were trying to reach first? Have you reached them?

I personally wanted enough hair to make a ponytail before I cut my relaxed ends off (so I would have wearing a ponytail to fall back on--and I'm glad I waited).

Good luck with whatever you decide. And if you do cut it, come back with pictures. :grin:

Giggletush

I too am transitioning from relaxed to natural, and also haven't relaxed since Jan. I personally am waiting until it grows to a length that I'm comfortable with before I BC. I am extremely tempted to do it right now....but I know I'll probably regret it, so I'll wait.

I advise you to think seriously about it before you make any hasty decision (like the ladies have also advised). But if you think you'll be comfortable with it, then I say go for it. :)

zazzi

First off, welcome to the forum!!

Congrats on your transition. To be sure you won't regret your bc, are there any length goals you were trying to reach first? Have you reached them?