Naturals who have texlaxed- describe your experience!

natasha

Hello,
I have been natural for about 3 years and I am considering texlaxing. I would love to hear from other natural ladies who have done this or considered doing this. What has been your experience? Has the health of your hair changed for better or worse? Any regrets?

I would like to make an informed decision and any and all input from others experienced with this would be appreciated.

TIA
natasha

SilkyandSmooth

I texlaxed back in April and I have no regrets. I transitioned for 18 months before doing the not so BC. I was natural for about 5 months when I texlaxed. I loved my natural hair but it just wasn't for me at the time. I was spending too much time doing my hair in the mornings, my hair was constantly wet (my natural hair needed water in order to look decent) and I'm not good at all with doing natural styles such as twists, twist outs, braid outs, etc (I don't have the patience :lol: ). Plus, I had my hair blown out shortly before I texlaxed and I totally fell in love with it. However, I knew that I didn't want bone straight hair permanently, so I opted to texlax. With my texlaxed hair, I can have a wash and set done and my hair will come out relaxer straight. It lasts until the next wash too. As soon as I wash it, the curls come right back. It really is like having the best of both worlds. My hair is so much easier and quicker to do in the mornings now and I couldn't be happier. :grin: As far as my hair's health, I really can't tell the difference. It's pretty healthy either way. My hair is well taken care of, whether it's natural or texlaxed. Good luck with your decision!

snoopy1me

My definition for texlaxed is basically a relaxer that isn't bone straight.
And the difference imo between underprocessed and a texlaxer is, underprocessed is when you wanted bone straight but didnt get those results, where as a "texlaxer" is when you wanted your hair to be less processed.