My hair is falling out :(

cocokim

Hello. Im new to LHCF :)

I have a major problem. Im very down about my hair and I not sure where to turn so heres hoping you girls can help me out here.

I have relaxed afro hair and about 3 weeks ago, I relaxed my hair again but this time I used a normal strength hair relaxer by Dark & Lovely with shea butter (I usually use the childrens hair relaxer as I think its a lot gentler on my hair but there was non in stock).

I relax my hair as my hair is naturally thick and its very difficult to manage when its natural so I use relaxer.

3 weeks down and my hair is breaking at a rapid pace. If I comb it, run my fingers through it or even scratch my head, my hair is breaking. I washed my hair 2 weeks ago and so much hair came out I started crying I was so upset.

I just dont know what to do anymore. Ive tried Dark & Lovelys leave in conditioner, Africas Best Shea Butter plus moisture therapy and Emu oil. I am even contemplating cutting it all off and starting again.

Ive moved to Australia a few months ago, and I just dont know where to get all of my usual products locally. Back home, I was able to pop into my local BSS and get everything I needed. Right now, Im so lost and upset and Im not sure where to turn.

I feel like I have no identity, and ashamed that I dont know how to properly care for my afro hair. I cant even cornrow :(

Would you be able to point me in the right direction to fix this awful mess I have made? :(

I suspect that your hair was not neutralised properly after your relaxer. Many women do not neutralise their hair properly after a relaxer or touch up service and then blame the relaxer.

I would use some neutraliser shampoo and do a protein treatment. Sorry this happened to you. This used to happen to me many years ago but since I became a member of LCHF, I am diligent about the neutraliser process after my relaxer. My neutraliser and washing out process is as vigourous as the touch up process itself.

Best,