I got the BIG CHOP yesterday!

kandi1280

After transitioning for five months, I finally got the big chop yesterday. I was extremely scared so I had my fiance cut my hair. He was like no at first, but when I told him that I really needed his support he did. It was quite a process, at first he was really upset about it, but as he kept cutting, he got really into it. He even busted out his clippers and gave me a shape up. When he was done we both looked in the mirror and
lachen70.gif
I think it was theraputic for both of us to laugh. After I washed and applied products it looked much better.

My question for the naturals is: after the chopped I have about and inch and a half of hair. It's kind of hard though and dries very easily even after I mist it during lunch. I'm young (24) but I do have to appear professional because I am an accountant. So how long will this rough patch last? is it scab hair? what exactly is scab hair?

One thing is that I do look cute, but I have to get used to this spongy thick hair!
laugh.gif
I was too scared but then I thought, hey God gave me this hair, so I can't look ugly in it - thats like being ugly in my own skin.
ohwell.gif

Congratulations, Kandi!!!!
I did the big chop about a month ago, and I did the same thing that you and your fiance did, I just laughed and laughed!!! Unfortunately, I don't really have that many tips, but I do suggest that you do a conditioner rinse when your hair gets dry. That also helps with the shrinkage. Good luck on your natural journey. I'm sure you look marvelous!
clap.gif

Oh a rough patch you say huh? I've got your solution. Slather some shea butter and lekairs conditioner on your beautiful twa, let sit, then rinse out. OR try mixing a bit of honey and olive oil in a glass, heat it than put it in your hair, let sit, then rinse out. Last but not least I you can try some sta sof fro and see how that works.

CONGRATS!