How to self trim?

Inquisition12

Hi ladies!

I'm a newbie, and I'm gearing up for 2007. I would really like to snip off some of my ends because my hair thins out toward the ends - is trimming even the best option? I want thick hair from the root to the end.

I've never self trimmed, but I'd like to try and do this myself :scratchch

Is there a difference between cutting wet or dry hair (I've had stylists trim wet and dry)? Is there a certain "technique" I should use to self trim? Should I trim right after a touch up?

Also, it sounds intuitive, but could someone explain the difference between a trim and a dusting??

Thanks in advance for any tips or suggestions!!

Last edited:

SpiritJunkie

I just did a trim for my daughter the other day using a method i think Southerngirl recommended. i did the cut on dry hair

I had my daughter bend over and we brushed all her hair forward. I then I cut it straight across.

The results were amazing.

She has layers now....it looks really cute.

I will attach pics if you want.

Dusting is light trimming to get rid of split ends. a search and destroy technique. I'm sure one of the ladies will chime in.

Last edited:

snoopy1me

Inquisition12 said:
Hi ladies!

I'm a newbie, and I'm gearing up for 2007. I would really like to snip off some of my ends because my hair thins out toward the ends - is trimming even the best option? I want thick hair from the root to the end.

I've never self trimmed, but I'd like to try and do this myself :scratchch

Is there a difference between cutting wet or dry hair (I've had stylists trim wet and dry)? Is there a certain "technique" I should use to self trim? Should I trim right after a touch up?

Also, it sounds intuitive, but could someone explain the difference between a trim and a dusting??

Thanks in advance for any tips or suggestions!!