Henna...How often? Post Your Reggie Here!

Br*nzeb*mbsh~ll

Hey Ayurvedic Ladies!!!

:newbie: I'm a newbie to the henna, indian herbs routine and I'd like to know how often can henna be applied? I'm transitioning and would really like to use henna for conditioning and thickening purposes.

I would really like as many responses as possible....Post your routines, please!

Thanks!

I apply hennas every month or every other month.

I used to do a 50/50 mix of henna and indigo for a darker brown, but now I prefer using henna and tea for more of a reddish brown color:
  • 100 grams Jamila henna mixed with strong brewed tea for a thick yogurt consistency
  • vatika or coconut oil (few squirts)
  • cheapie conditioner (few squirts)
  • apply to wet/dry hair (makes no difference to me)
  • leave on for about an hour with heat (more than an hour without heat)
  • conditioner wash with V05 Vanilla Mint Clarifying Conditioner (or another moisturizing conditioner) at least 2x, leaving the last one in longer before rinsing

I do mine about once every 3-4 months ( I alternate between henna and protein treatments). The recipe is in my fotki. no password needed.

Heh.

I've done more things with my henna reggie than a little bit.

I started out once a week, and my hair started breaking off at the root from having a bit too much of a 'protein-like' substance on it. :nono:

I then shifted to once a month, and did that for - a while, maybe a year?

Then, I switched up my reggie, and added an actual protein treatment, and shifted it to every 8 weeks.

Right now, because I'm using Mega-Tek, I henna VERY infrequently - my hair is protein sensitive, and I know that henna can push it over the edge. I've only used it once since I started using MT, and - I don't really have a set schedule in mind right now. I'm tempted to give myself another one in the next month or so, just to see how my hair reacts to it (and I wanna try adding salt :lol:)