Help! I think I have a scalp infection

aja1121

Ok, I've always had an itching problem....but I noticed around Nov 06 that my scalp was pussing and scabbing up. I eventually lost hair in these areas and I went to the dermalogists twice and they keep saying that my scalp is oily and is suffocating from product buildup. I don't put anything directly on my scalp, wash weekly and only moisturize my ends a couple times a week. I know from combing the product can travel upwards, but this doesn't make any sense.

One section of hair that I lost is growing back, it's like 2 inches now...but a new section is starting and I am about to scream....most say it's stress, but I don't think so, not now anyway...maybe last year it was.:wallbash:

toniy

Have you tried clarifying. Anytime I hear product buildup, I automatically think the scalp may need to be stripped. JMO - I am not an expert.

But....Did your doctor prescribe anything or give you a plan of action?

Starr1

Would you mind listing the products that you're using on your hair (shampoos, condioners, stylers, etc)?

aja1121

Have you tried clarifying. Anytime I hear product buildup, I automatically think the scalp may need to be stripped. JMO - I am not an expert.

But....Did your doctor prescribe anything or give you a plan of action?

Yeah, I clarify my scalp everytime I wash using Rene Furterer's Complex 5, or Phytopolleine elixir.

She told me to buy Murad's exfoliating serum for thinning hair...it works pretty good, but it's a combination of glycolic and salicylic acid, so it stings a little. Luckily I'm a licensed cosmetologist and can get it at a discounted price. Even with my expertise, I've never seen anything like this. I need to sleep with gloves, I wake up with blood in my nails from scratching. It's bad.......my scalp isn't even dry, it is just a bad....horrible habit.

aja1121

Would you mind listing the products that you're using on your hair (shampoos, condioners, stylers, etc)?