Doing the porosity test wrong!?

ForestRose

Need some help ladies. I always thought that I was high porosity because I would push my air into the water to make sure that it coats. Anyway I did everything to try and improve my porosity but my hair continued to break. So far i have tried roux shmpoo and conditioner, henna, sealing with heavy butters.

Now I realise that I may be doing the test wrong!

Does high porosity mean you just drop your hair in and it sinks? I'm so confused maybe that's why my hairs been so dry because I've been trying to correct porous hair when it could be the opposite of that.

Thank you for reading.

faithVA

Please share your wash day regimen with us and the conditions of your hair that made you think you were high porosity.

I'm not an expert on the test so not going to be much help there. But perhaps we may be able to help with why your hair is breaking.

Are you relaxed? natural? texlaxed? and what is your wash day regimen including methods and products.

PJaye

Although I believe porosity to exist on a continuum, here are a few general guidelines that may help you sort things through:

Low Porosity
Repels water and hair products
Difficulty absorbing and retaining moisture
More prone to an accumulation of protein
Needs little protein to thrive
Difficulty depositing color; color fades slowly
Requires products rich in emollients and humectants to attract and retain moisture

Normal Porosity
Absorbs and retains water and products well
Resists absorbing excess water and product
Easily maintains a balance between moisture and protein
Styling and coloring follows a predictable pattern
Requires occasional doses of protein

High Porosity
Absorbs excessive amounts of water and product
Deposits color easily; color fades quickly
Often feels dry, fragile and/or brittle
Requires lots of emollients and frequent doses of protein
Thrives with acidic rinses, oils and butters