Braid Wearers- How Do You Keep Your Hairline from Thinning?

Phoenix

I have a question for you guys...

I've been wearing Senegalese Twists since November 2004 and I plan to wear them until the end of the year.

Lately I've noticed that my hairline is looking a little thin. It could just be my imagination...but it seems like I can see a little more scalp than usual. Anyway, I want to address it before it gets to be a real problem.

My twists are not super tiny and they weren't put in too tight. How much of the hairline is supposed to be braided? I mean, should I just leave that hair out next time? Maybe the twists are too small? I think the ones at the hairline are a little smaller than the other ones. I'm just trying to figure out what could be causing this.

Anyay, I took out the twists at my hairline (but now I'm worried that that may just cause more breakage) and I've been using ORS temple serum. I also try not to pull them back into a pony tail too often because I think that stresses the hairline. What should I do?!?!?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Miz_Complexity

Hello Phoenix, I would suggest if you have some one braiding you hair ask them not to braid tight around your hair line.

If you braid your hair your self be gentle treat your hair line like a baby. You have to be extra careful.If you wear your braids in a pony tail don't pull you hair tight when you put it up. Don't sleep in in them either.Wear your hair down if you have to, so ther won't be more tention placed on your hair line.

I usually reinforce my hairline when I have braids by a using Organic Root Stimulator Temple balm and Profectiv Temple Balm the one in the small yellow container.

Another thing that destroys the hairline is a scarf. The number 1 culprit for weaken hair lines are COTTON SCARVES. If you wear these on a daily basis this will rub you hair out. I notice allot of my friends who do that and they whined up being bald on their hairlines and around the temples.