Baggie/Ponytail Method stretchers......Question...

RabiaElaine

What products/method works best for keeping the hair down and tame while in a ponytail, especially when you have a couple different textures going.

Right now I am exactly 4 weeks post relaxer, my last relaxer I texlaxed, so at this point I have 4 textures. For the most part I start my day with my hair smooth and lyinging down, but it doesn't end that way. I've been using activator gel and sometimes Jam gel to smooth.

I have 3 more months until my relaxer so I really need to arm myself with the correct products to keep looking neat.

Any advice would be appreciated.

libralegend

Newbie here, but I have been stretching now for 20wks with about 3 different textures. What has worked for me when wearing a ponytail is S-curl on the new growth, NTM Silk Touch and Jane Carter Nourish and Shine butter mixed with very little WGO (on new growth only). Then I use a boar bristle brush and smooth the new growth portion and may or may not use a scarf to flatten (it just depends on my mood and how much time I have).

I hope that helps some!

Dlene

I used to use S-curl but I realized it was weighing my hair down too much, so I spray a mixture of s-curl diluted with distilled water after I wash my hair only. No adverse effects. I moisturize daily with a new staple that I love along with NTM Silk Touch Leave in Cream: it is called BB Oil Moisturizer hair aloe and something... I forgot the name.

RabiaElaine

I have been using s-curl and ntm, which is great for softness (right now I am trying sta so fro) but I feel I need something heavier for hold...any suggestions, without using a product with alchohol.

Sweet_Ambrosia

What works for me is S-curl, Lets Jam Gel and Water.
I use S-curl on my NG and ends, then lightly spritz my hair with water, apply a small amount of Lets Jam, brush it back with a boar brush, then apply the scarf method.